It’s Alive! …Almost

I’m still slowly working on the Unicorn Gundam RX-0 MG kit I started at the end of March. I’ve really been enjoying the way this kit looks, although, deeply frustrated at times, I’m not really a fan of how the construction process has been going.

As you can see in the shot above, I’m almost out of pieces to cut and snap, bringing the longer-than-normal task of the main assembly for this Gundam a close.

Even the kit itself is anxious to have it’s legs done. Seen above is a shot of the little guy pulling its weight, quite literally, by helping out. Looking close reveals the really nice finish that the plastic has. I paid a bit extra for the luster as I’m all for the end result, and seeing the finished look in action really makes me feel like it was worth it. I have a perfectionist issue with leaving tree scars (I’ll get to that tomorrow), but adding any primer/paint will ruin the overall look, and may stick out worse than the black plastic slice marks. It isn’t that big of deal though, because of the way that light bounces off of the outer plastic and the general finished look of the Gundam – Master Grade has its perks above High Grade for these very reasons. I’m hoping these features combined will be enough to distract pleasant viewers from noticing any… defects…. that only “daddy” has an eye for. Avoiding these issues could have been done with paint and primer, but again, I would have lost the great factory finish that I paid extra for.

Ahhh, look how bright the luster shines! You can almost hear the sparkles glisten in the air.

Next up I have the legs, weapons, and then…. the decals (dun DUN DUUUUUUN!), which should take me until 2012 at my current working pace. There are a F-Ton of decals in this kit. More than any other I’ve seen, and to top it off I think they are water slide. Well, that’s what they look like from outside of the packaging. This choice of decal, which is a pro-modelers selection for a “perfect” finish, is a real pain in the butt to work with. Nothing angers me more than a broken water slide decal, which is a frequent occurrence (for me anyways) that is impossible to replace. The only other alternative is rub on decals, which leave a nicer finish and are far easier to apply.

I gotta believe in the shine though. I mean, that brilliance has to be special for some reason, right? That luster can only mean that luck is in my favor.

“Come on Gundam gods, give me some rub on decals!”

Keep your eyes peeled in the next few days for an oft requested “how to”. I’m by no means pro, but I do love the hobby, and I know others have been wanting some help.


No bleeding this time!

One Response to “It’s Alive! …Almost”

  1. […] and talks about upcoming musical endeavors. (Give us something 16-bit-ish!) *The Arch-Nerd, busy not studying for tests, is working on one of the geekly arts: model-building. *Kung-Fu (the Irem arcade classic, […]

Leave a Reply

