New Swag Day – Video Games

I’ve had quite a few recent purchases lately, with oddly one of them ending up being an actual video game. Everything I ordered online seemed to come at the same time as well, which admittedly left me a little overwhelmed. Thankfully, I’ve been sick over the last week, leaving me with more than enough time to finally plod through my pile of swag. First up is a title I’m sure most of you are familiar with: The further delayed Canadian version of Sakura Taisen V (thanks Quebec!), or as it is known here in North America, Sakura Wars V.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Pictured above is everything that is included in the Playstation 2 Limited release. Not really much to look at, I know, but still worth the extra $10 EB was asking for. It wasn’t the art book, or the “oh so awesome” poster that sold me on the LE version. Rather, it was the inclusion of a full Japanese VA track along side the regular English one. Before you flip out and point the OTAKU_DORK finger, understand that I was swayed after watching the English trailer. When compared with Japanese gameplay, it is pretty easy to tell why I would want foreign voice track. I’m usually able to enjoy English dubbing, but I draw the line with Texas accents in anime; especially when it is obviously forced.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

As I mentioned before, the poster isn’t winning any awards from me, nor is it going to make it onto any of my walls. I’m lucky enough to have a fiancee, and I’d like to keep her around. A piece of advice to the single reader: Don’t put shit like this up in your rooms. It isn’t attractive to the ladies.

There was also an art book included in the package, which is sadly forgettable. There is one page that piques interest, or rather, notoriety akin with most 26 year old men.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Oooh baby (You’re welcome E).

Next up is a purchase many, many people have claimed is just as pointless and unnecessary as the Sakura Taisen V’s extras. What those people forget though, is that some of us were born with poor eyesight. Easily something a video game enthusiast would have a hard time dealing with, especially when trying to play games on a tiny screen. I personally understand the plight of the squinty-eyed nerd, and have found my problem even more apparent with Nintendo’s latest handheld. The DS is a fantastic little console, with a diverse range of games to enjoy, and neat features which have brought new flairs to old gameplay styles. The problem is that I usually only get a few hours time with the console before my eyes are seeing double.

Yes, even with slightly “off” vision, Justin Timberlake is still an abomination. While this doens’t make my games unplayable, it does detract greatly from the overall enjoyment I seem to achieve. Thankfully, Nintendo, being the worldly thoughtful company that they are, decided to create yet another DS sku. One that is directed the older crowd (aww, they care about my grandma) and those with sore eyes: The Nintendo DSiXL.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Upon release, Amazon had my new DSiXL at my door within days. As with everything else in my life, the vile hand of irony lead to the discovery of yet another bad handheld. I’ve learned from my past mistakes though, and remembered to purchase the DSiXL from a reliable store instead of a crappy one masquerading its dependability. Amazon had my replacement console here by the next day, and everything worked great out of the box.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

If I had to lodge one complaint, it would have to be about that big giant-ass pen they included. I get it, bigger console-bigger touchpad pen, but where am I supposed to store the damn thing. I’ve already lost it, or I mean to say, my fiancee has already lost it. The damn thing couldn’t survive one wave of “organizing”, and I presume it’s been dumped in some drawer with real pens that actually write.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

The last bit of swag was an item I just couldn’t pass up. I am a well known Dragon Quest fanboy, even owning the almost useless Dragon Quest Kenshin TV game. So when I came across a real working, Hori made, Dragon Quest Slime controller, I couldn’t hit the paypal button fast enough.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

He’s always smiling at me, sitting idly on his custom made DQ perch, and hoping I one day pick him up. When the time comes, which I believe will be sooner than later, I think I’ll be treated to a truly, how do I put this, unique way of controlling my games.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Turning the slime over reveals where all of the buttons are, thus showing this controller is fully capable with any and all Playstation 2 games. I don’t think he rumbles though, and you have to plug the cord into the controller itself, which may lead to accidental disconnects. It isn’t all that comfortable ether, especially when paired up with hands groomed over 20 years with horizontal shaped controllers.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

None of this matters in the eyes of a fanboy though, and rest assured I will geek out with this controller hard. I posted that I was working on playing Dragon Quest 8, which unfortunately hasn’t seen much screen time. I’ve got too much on the go lately, especially with being sick. I won’t forget though. I mean, how can I when I’ve got this crazy little guy smiling at me all day? He tries very hard to get my attention sometimes, and will go so far as to pull funny tricks to get a laugh.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

No Goobarian, I don’t really think he is alive. Did I mention that I’ve been sick lately?

Leave a Reply

